New Highly Collectable $5 Coin Celebrates Australia’s Heritage

September 4, 2023 2:33 pm in by

The new coin celebrates Australia’s history with it featuring our prehistoric rainforests, ancient Aboriginal settlements, convict sites, and other heritage sites such as the Sydney Opera House.

The coin which features all 20 of Australia’s world heritage sites, was launched at heritage-listed Hyde Park Barracks in Sydney with a 2-meter tall model of the coin on show.

“Designed by the Mint coin designer Tony Dean, the $5 frosted uncirculated coin features images of all 20 Australian World Heritage Properties in intricate detailed relief, which frames a full-colour, central image of a handprint, fan palm frond and a shell fossil to represent the natural and built icons and Australia’s Indigenous heritage.” Said the Royal Australian Mint in their statement.

Article continues after this ad

The coin will also feature the late Queen Elizabeth II Memorial Obverse, which was designed by renowned British engraver Jody Clark.

“As Australians we’re fortunate to live in a country with so much natural beauty. By celebrating Australia’s World Heritage sites through this collectible coin the Royal Australian Mint is doing its bit to help the spread the word about our magnificent natural and built heritage,” Dr Leigh, Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury, said.

“The $5 Australian Heritage Properties Sites coin is Australian legal tender and can be purchased through the Mint’s coin shop, call centre and authorised dealers from Thursday, 7 September 2023. The collectible coin will also be available for purchase from the gift shops at the World Heritage properties that feature on the coin.”

“Australia’s heritage sites depicted on the coin are: Australian Convict Sites, Budj Bim Cultural Landscape, Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens, Sydney Opera House, Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh/Naracoorte), Fraser Island (officially K’gari), Gondwana Rainforests of Australia, Great Barrier Reef, Greater Blue Mountains Area, Heard and McDonald Islands, Lord Howe Island Group, Macquarie Island, Ningaloo Coast, Purnululu National Park, Shark Bay (Western Australia), Wet Tropics of Queensland, Kakadu National Park, Tasmanian Wilderness, Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Willandra Lakes Region.”